Packers Police Sets Return

2008 Green Bay Packers police set Brett Favre is no longer part of the mix, but Wisconsin police departments are keeping the police set tradition alive.

The first one came out in 1983 when the roster included Lynn Dickey, James Lofton and Eddie Lee Ivery.

Brett Favre made his debut in 1992–the first time he had ever appeared on a football card while wearing a Green Bay Packers uniform.

25 years after launching the program, the team has once again partnered with police departments around the state of Wisconsin to produce a set of trading cards, set for distribution beginning September 22.

20 cards make up the set; 18 players plus coach Mike McCarthy and general manager Ted Thompson. Four cards will be distributed at a time each week. However, the cards are usually found in complete sets rather quickly. The front of the cards are typical football cards with the back containing a public safety message.

The card program is run by the Ashwaubenon Police Department in cooperation with the Packers.

The schedule for release of the cards is:

  • Sept. 22: General Manager Ted Thompson, Coach Mike McCarthy, Johnny Jolly DT, Brandon Jackson RB.
  • Sept. 29: Chad Clifton OT, Nick Barnett LB, Ryan Pickett DT, Donald Driver WR.
  • Oct. 6: Al Harris DB, Donald Lee TE, Aaron Kampman DE, Mark Tauscher OT.
  • Oct. 13: Charles Woodson DB, A.J. Hawk LB, Greg Jennings WR, Jason Spitz OG.
  • Oct. 20: Aaron Rogers QB, Ryan Grant RB, Cullen Jenkins DE, Mason Crosby K.

    Packers police sets on eBay